INTERNET EVERYTHING!… or don’t because that’s ridiculous


(via Luigi de Bernardini)

Just about everything is being internet enabled nowadays.  With these so-called ‘smart’ devices are becoming more and more prevalent in the market.  But it’s not really objects that you would immediately consider as needing to be connected to the net.  Oh, no it is not, they’re things like fridges and bloody toothbrushes.  Call me old-fashioned, but I just don’t think that my life is in great need of a kettle that allows me to control the exact temperature of the water, or an egg carton that that will send me a notification when I’m running out of eggs.


(via Uncrate)

However, I do suppose it’s the inevitable next step in technology, as we edge ever closer to the future that Wall-e predicted for us.

There’s big part of me that just doesn’t want to see humanity fall to something like SkyNet.  Or to live in a house that is so damn ‘internetted’ that I’m subject to a rogue AI like HAL 9000 in 2001: A Space Odyssey.


(via GiantFreakinRobot)

One of the real issues that I can see with internet expanding to more and more objects is the use of the information gathered.  What would these corporations be doing with the data that they collect from our devices?  Burrus also discusses this, “the real value that the Internet of Things creates is at the intersection of gathering data and leveraging it.”  And so you really have to wonder how this info will be leveraged.

But, what do you think?  Will we keep on connecting every device we can, no matter how silly, or when do we stop?

4 thoughts on “INTERNET EVERYTHING!… or don’t because that’s ridiculous

  1. I liked how you have taken a different approach to this topic. Raised a good point about how far do we really need to take this technology until it just gets to the point where we are doing for the simple reason that we can.

  2. I completely relate to your cynicism, it’s my favourite way to critique hype culture. I love that the post is packed with personal opinion and perspective, and you touch on sources enough that it’s still a relatable blog post, and not an alienating academic piece. Well done 🙂

  3. I agree with the other commenter, this is such a different approach to the topic, I really like how you’ve aggregated so much content from the Wall-E to rogue AI! While I do agree this would definitely be the next logical step, wouldn’t the inter connectivity of appliances and devices make it easier and provide a more seamless ease of access?

  4. I really enjoyed this post. You have a way of writing that sounds conversational, personal and humourous all whilst staying educative and professional sounding. One thing about this post was that it made me incredibly anxious haha, the photo of the red wall robot thing just brings back way too many memories of that Simpsons episode where the house tries to kill the family – great reference there for future blog posts, super professional – I wonder if the Simpsons is peer-reviewed haha.
    Also, this post made me consider just how many notifications we would be getting each day if literally every single object in our lives was sending us trivial notifications – terrifying.
    One thing I noticed was a lack of remediation for this week? Little bit of a shame, but this post still has everything necessary for a great post even without it. Well done and congrats on finishing digc202 blogging!

Leave a Reply

